

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Press Release

Allison Fore

Public and Intergovernmental Affairs Officer 312.751.6633 allison.fore@mwrd.org 100 East Erie Street, Chicago, Illinois 60611

For immediate release December 6, 2016

MWRD Commissioners bid adieu to two talented leaders



The Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago Board of Commissioners, including Cynthia Santos (from L to R), Frank Avila, Debra Shore, David Walsh, President Mariyana Spyropoulos, Michael Alvarez, Vice President Barbara McGowan, Kari Steele and Executive Director David St. Pierre paused to recognize the "tallest" commissioners Walsh and Alvarez for their service.

Thursday's Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago Board of Commissioners' meeting marked the last chapter for two dedicated commissioners who are stepping down after a combined seven-plus years of faithful and diligent service.

Commissioners Michael Alvarez and David Walsh were presented with a resolution and greeted with well wishes from their fellow commissioners as they gave their final remarks as leaders of the MWRD. Under the commissioners' guidance, the MWRD opened the world's largest nutrient facility, unveiled the world's largest combined sewer reservoir at Thornton Composite Reservoir and introduced two new disinfection facilities that will lead to improved water quality in local waterways.

Commissioner Alvarez was elected November 2, 2010. During his time on the Board, he served as the chairman of the Federal Legislation Committee, chairman of the Stormwater Management Committee, vice chairman of the Labor and Industrial Relations Committee and vice chairman of the State Legislation and Rules Committee.

"From my experience, I can attest that the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago is as





MWRD Commissioners Michael Alvarez (above) and David Walsh (below) bid farewell to their fellow commissioners and staff at the Dec. 1 Board meeting.

well run as any government agency that you will come across, and it has been an honor serving on this Board," said Commissioner Alvarez. "We are surrounded by staff who come to work every day caring about their jobs and environment and it is that commitment that makes this region a wonderful place to live. No one questions the integrity of this organization, and it is because of that level of service that I will continue to serve as an ambassador to the District and tout its praise."

Commissioner Walsh was appointed on Sept. 28, 2015 by Illinois Governor Bruce Rauner to fill a vacancy. He quickly became acclimated to his new role, serving as chairman of the Industrial Waste and Water Pollution Committee, chairman of the Monitoring (continued)

MWRD Commissioners bid adieu to two talented leaders (continued)

and Research Committee, vice chairman of the Information Technology Committee and vice chairman of the Judiciary Committee.

"This has been a tremendous honor. I am humbled by the welcome I received when I took this post and I thank my staff, and the entire hardworking staff at the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago who are committed to protecting the water environment for millions of residents and visitors to Cook County," said Commissioner Walsh. "Together with that commitment, we were able to make this region more resilient and terrific place to live, visit and work."

The MWRD is governed by a nine-member Board of Commissioners, who are elected at large and serve on a salaried part-time basis. Three commissioners are elected every two years for six-year terms. Biannually, the Board

elects from its membership a president, vice president, and chairman of the Committee on Finance.

"We thank Commissioner Alvarez and Commissioner Walsh for their service to the Board and continuous ability to push the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago forward," said MWRD President Mariyana Spyropoulos. "We thank them for their wisdom, careful attention to policy, fiscal responsibility, engagement in innovation, their sense of humor and above all their friendship. We wish them luck in future endeavors and hope to cross paths real soon."

Commissioners Alvarez and Walsh will be replaced by Martin Durkan and Josina Morita, who will be sworn in officially at an installation ceremony scheduled for Tuesday, Dec. 6.

###