

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Press Release

Allison Fore

Public and Intergovernmental Affairs Officer 312.751.6626 allison.fore@mwrd.org 100 East Erie Street, Chicago, Illinois 60611

For immediate release June 22, 2016

MWRD Board of Commissioners honors student scientists



President Mariyana T. Spyropoulos with winning students (from 1 to r), Amy Vande Velde, Grace Vomacka, Alyannah Tasker-Lewis and Daniel Vogwill.

For more than a quarter of a century, employees of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago (MWRD) have judged science fair projects at the Museum of Science and Industry for the Chicago Public School Science Fair and the Non-Public School Science Fair. They understand the importance of encouraging young scientists.

At each of these two fairs, MWRD employees chose 25 winning projects in the field of ecology. The winners were honored during a board room ceremony, followed by a boat trip with their parents on the Chicago River and Lake Michigan. An informative tour of the waterways was given by the ship's docent, and an MWRD environmental specialist shared knowledge about MWRD history, property and marine equipment. One of the highlights of the tour was the Nicholas J. Melas Centennial Fountain, which was built in 1989 to commemorate the 100th birthday of the MWRD. (continued)

2016 Science Fair Winners

Grade 7

Evan Auriemma, St. Giles School Abigail Branda, Franklin School Maria Byers, Edison Regional Gifted Center Matthew Coyle, St. Paul of the Cross School Benjamin Crotty, Burley School Katelin Cummens, St. Robert Bellarmine School Sean Forrester, St. Viator School Lucas Foszca, St. Giles School Kylie Jensen, St. Mary School, Buffalo Grove Julia Kozaczka, St. Maria Goretti School Arianne Lopez, St. Monica Academy Emma Markham, Our Lady of Victory School Cate Meyer, St. Paul of the Cross School Meaghan Orloski, St. Paul of the Cross School Dorothea Reames-Henry, Nettelhorst School Alyannah Tasker-Lewis, Providence/St. Mel School

Grade 8

Amjad Alzein, Universal School

Shireen Aydogan, College Preparatory School of America Gwendolyn Casey, Peterson School Alexandria Di Brizzi, Divine Providence School Maeve Donlin, Ebinger School Eva Frank, St. Cornelius School Jace Guy, Dawes School Halie Hopman, Divine Providence School Anneliese Kelner, Audubon School Steven Li, Healy School Margaret Lothian, Prussing School Logan Maue, St. Mary School, Riverside Gianni Moran, St. Mary School, Riverside Heena Patel, St. Mary School, Riverside Maya Salinas, Salazar School Yousef Suleiman, Universal School Michelle Thran, Prussing School Grace Vomacka, St. Mary School, Riverside

Alyssa Wodnicki, Edgebrook School

MWRD Board of Commissioners honors student scientists (continued)

"The Science Fair board room ceremony and boat trip are always one of the highlights of the year for our commissioners," said MWRD President Mariyana Spyropoulos. "This event gives us the opportunity to see young scientists experimenting in environmental fields. They are our future, and we are happy to applaud them and encourage their work."

###



MWRD Chairman of Finance, Frank Avila, presented certificates to winning science fair students, including Erika Anderson (from l to r), Evan Auriemma, Davora Buchanan, Helena Patel and Lucas Foszca.



MWRD Commissioner Kari K. Steele presented certificates to winning science fair students, including Sean Forrester (from l to r), Margaret Lothian, Michelle Thran, Logan Maue and Cate Meyer.



MWRD Commissioner Cynthia M. Santos presented certificates to science fair winners, including Christian Cooper (from l to r), Matthew Coyle, Katelin Cummens and Anusha Ebrahim.

Grade 9

Emily Mun, Lincoln Park High School Zain Shaikh, College Preparatory of America

Grade 10

Davora Buchanan, Morgan Park High School Hoda Mahmaud, Universal School

Jonathan Poole, Chicago High School for Agricultural Sciences

Amy Vande Velde, Chicago High School for Agricultural Sciences

Daniel Vogwill, Chicago High School for Agricultural Sciences

Grade 11

Erika Anderson, Von Steuben High School Mohammed Christi, Von Steuben High School Anusha Ebrahim, Whitney M. Young Magnet High School

Kiana Gomez, Chicago High School for Agricultural Sciences

Joseph Palomares, Amundsen High School

Grade 12

Christian Cooper, Cooper Academy Josemanuel Hernandez, Curie High School



MWRD Commissioner Debra Shore presented certificates to winning science fair students, including Kiana Gomez (from l to r), Jacé Guy and Anneliese Kelner.



MWRD Commissioner David J. Walsh presented certificates to science fair winners, including Gwendolyn Casey (from l to r), Maria Byers and Jonathan Poole.

Recovering Resources, Transforming Water