#### "IAFSM Project Award Recipients," IAFSM Newsletter

Illinois Association for Floodplain and Stormwater Management's (IAFSM's) project awards recognize excellent projects across the state where a team has been assembled to accomplish a specific task. The 2016 award winners are:

# Flood Reduction Project Award (Large Project): Thornton Reservoir, Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago.

- Christened as Chicago's Grand Canyon
- Capacity to store 8 billions gallons.
- Part of the TARP system that protects 556,000 people in the surrounding 14 suburbs

Prevents \$40 million worth of damages each year



Bill Sheriff accepts the Flood Reduction Project Award on behalf of MWRDGC.

## Flood Reduction Project Award (Small Project): Klein Creek Flood Mitigation, Forest Preserve District of DuPage County.

- Two-reservoir system that intakes water from adjacent creek during flood events.
- Includes a small gravity reservoir and a larger reservoir with pumping system.
- Two larges pumps each can pump 20,000 gpm.
- Reduces flooding for approximately 60 properties.

## Sustainability Project Award: Stormwater Management Master Plan, Loyola University Campus, Chicago

- Includes a holistic approach to green infrastructure and stormwater strategies
- Reduced runoff from the site by 40%
- Rated the 4th greenest campus in the U.S. by the Sierra Club

#### Public Education and Outreach Project Award: RainReady, Village of Midlothian

- Program has three objectives: 1) To understand the flooding impact; 2) To enlist the resident's feedback on potential solutions; 3) To engage them directly implementing these solutions.
- Outreach and education was performed using public meetings, property surveys and onsite assessments, qualitative interviews, publication of a risk assessment report, participation in the village parade and block party, and a bicycle tour.



Representatives from Floodlothian Midlothian accept the Public Education and Outreach Award.

#### 2016 "Best Presentation" Award

IAFSM members were provided an opportunity to vote for the best workshop presentation they attended, as part of the

conference survey. (Plenary Speakers were not included in this vote). Our Annual Conference would not be the great

success that it is without the hard work and wonderful presentations of all our speakers. This year, the following presenters

were the top three vote getters. Thanks to all members who voted, and thanks to everyone who presented.

1st place: Session 4C "A New Competitor in 2D Modeling: Complex Comparison of AdH and HEC-RAS", with 11%

of the votes. Presenters: Scott Arends, Garrett Litteken (Hanson Professional Services, Inc.)

2nd place: Session 4A "Cook County Watershed Management Ordinance: Update on Permit Compliance Resources",

with 8% of the votes. Presenter: Dan Feltes (MWRDGC)

3rd place: Session 1D "Partnering to Solve Local Flooding: MWRD's Stormwater Masterplans Open Panel

**Discussion"**, with 7% of the votes. Presenters: Richard Fisher (MWRD), Matt Bardol (Geosyntec), Heather Schwar

(Cardno), Mark Wagstaff (M3 Engineering Group), John Mayer (Engineering Resource Associates), Marty Michalisko

(Engineering Resource Associates), Jenny Loewenstein (Engineering Resource Associaets), Gunilla Goulding (Arcadis),

Jennifer Maercklein (V3), Rebeca Bell (Bluestem Communications), Elli Cosky (Metro Strategies).